Banner
Home Forums Movie Theaters Cinema Design Large Drive in theater at marina/ restaurant
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Large Drive in theater at marina/ restaurant

Large Drive in theater at marina/ restaurant 02 Jul 2012 22:34 #38792

• fr378417
  • Fresh Boarder
Hi,

I am extremely new to this industry but am interested in starting a drive in movie theater in a marina parking lot with ample space. I would say the lot space is about 200 x 300 ft and can fit at least 120 cars. The lot is rarely used for the restaurant because there another lot with plenty of space. I am looking into inflatable screens and have found some very good prices. The only thing that is really restricting the size of the screen is the lumens rating on most projectors. I was told that I would need about 16 sq ft per lumens. I was thinking about a screen that is 32.5 by 60 ft, but at 1950 sq ft that would require a projector that that has at least 31200 lumens. These projectors go for a ton of money. I was wondering if anyone had any suggestions as to what my screen size should be and if that much lumens is really necessary per sq ft. I am open to any suggestion and I thank you in advance.

Frank
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re: Large Drive in theater at marina/ restaurant 03 Jul 2012 00:48 #38794

• revrobor
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Thank you received: 23
Without ramping that parking lot you are going to have sightline problems. It sounds as if you want to make this DI a temporary or portable operation. With presentation and convenience being the two major goals in a DI you might want to re-think your location. I am aware of a number of inflatable screens but I don't think they yet make the type of screen you'd need for a digital presentation.
Bob Allen
The Old Showman

Re: Large Drive in theater at marina/ restaurant 03 Jul 2012 11:52 #38796

• fr378417
  • Fresh Boarder
revrobor,