Banner
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: New Theater Idea

New Theater Idea 12 Nov 2006 20:32 #29426

• Dean_Siren
  • Fresh Boarder
Hi everyone. I'm currently a college student and thinking of opening a theater after finishing school. But my ideas are very different from other theaters. So I'd like you guys to tell me if they could work.

I want the theater to have a small number of small rooms. Just four screen rooms, 30 to 50 seats per room. To save money, the projectors would be consumer, off-the-shelf digital projectors made for small screens. There would be no concession stand, customers would be allowed to bring their own food, and the theater would be located in a supermarket strip mall across the street from a housing complex.

Why do I think this stuff is a good idea? First, assuming I could get permission to to show content, the studios would save distribution cost without me asking for handouts to pay for expensive hardware. Being digital, I could schedule movies the way TV networks schedule shows, many get shown only once a week, and even popular ones get shown only once a day. So even with a small number of screens, I could show many different movies.

How could I survive without selling food? I would ask the studios to let me keep more per ticket. It wouldn't hurt them too much because they'd be saving a lot on distribution. I'd encourage customers to buy food from the nearby supermarket, where the food costs 66% less than at a concession stand. Plus, the supermarket has a lot more variety than even the largest concession stands have. Customers would see the value in this and attend more often. The studios may only make half as much revenue per ticket, but they'd sell 3 times as many. And what I'd lose in concession revenue I'd make up for in per-ticket profit and ticket volume.