Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Cinema Cafes

Cinema Cafes 27 Jan 2002 19:01 #27649

• MediaGirl
  • Fresh Boarder
Hi all,

My name is Mairim and I am a college student in NYC. I am taking a Business Planning and Entrepenuership class where we have to put together a business plan. As a huge movie freak and being always told that I should own a movie theatre because I go to them so much, my business plan is going to be based on a Cinema Cafe. Does anyone have any experience or thoughts about them?

Basically, for my plan I am thinking of showing independent films on one or two screens with a full scale cafe. Location-wise, I am thinking somewhere on the West Coast but haven't narrowed it down from there. Suggestions?

I am just starting out so I guess my biggest problem is knowing what I need to know in getting into the movie exhibition industry... if that makes any sense.
I read a post of someone earlier that needed Business Plan help but I need more help!

I mean how do I figure out:
-how much space I will need?
-if I should, lease or buy? and the cost?
-what equipment and supplies I will need and if I should lease or buy it? again, the cost?
-how does renting films from distributors work? usual cost?
-what the profile of my customers will be?
I went to NATO Online and MPAA.org, but they were no help in getting information about independent movies. Do any of you know what the percentage of total U.S. box office grosses go to indies and/or foreign films or the demographics of the people who usually go to Indies?
-how do I figure out how many employees I will need? and how much I should pay them?

I know these are alot of question (and I'll probably have more), but any help would be greatly appreciated. At the end of the semester we will be presenting to actual venture capitalists and I don't want to sound like a complete doofus.