Banner
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: shoestring startup

shoestring startup 17 Nov 2001 17:11 #27603

• alleng
  • Fresh Boarder
I have gotten enough info to move to steps 2&3. I am searching for a building to open a small foreign film theater . I have limitations so will start with a conversion, probably a vacant nightclub or warehouse.

What type of used equipment should I look for? What is the minimum ceiling height that will work? I have no experience so need to know what size most of these films will be and the equipm. to run them.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re: shoestring startup 17 Nov 2001 18:00 #27604

Greetings,
There is an Art House that just opened here in my town that was built in an old warehouse as part of a museum. It is a very nice single screen stadium theatre. I did all of the consulting for the equipment for them (telling them what to buy and what to aviod.) They put in used equipment except for the sound system and chairs and such because of thier limited budget. They put the whole thing together for about $550,000 give or take some change.
I'll give you the exact dimensions of the Auditorium at a later time since I am not quite sure what they are.
All of thier films so far have been 35mm
they have 16 mm capability and a video projector as well.
Hope this helps
If you build a stadium auditorium it is easier for building coversion.

[This message has been edited by GTEntertainment (edited November 17, 2001).]

Re: shoestring startup 17 Nov 2001 20:22 #27605

• Mike
  • Administrator
  • Thank you received: 45