Home Forums Movie Theaters Concession Stand Sneaking in treats revisited
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Sneaking in treats revisited

Sneaking in treats revisited 20 Mar 2002 00:41 #25745

• BurneyFalls
  • Platinum Boarder
Did anyone happen to see Randy Cohen, the self professed "ethicist", on Good Morning America this morning when he told the world it is okay to sneak in snacks when attending the movie theatre. Immediately after that comment he told a teenager in the audience it is okay to run a red light if you're out in the middle of nowhere and nobody is approaching the intersection.

I have never written to a network before, but I did today. I was appalled that someone who claims to be an expert on morals and ethics would say either of those things. Wondered if anyone else saw the segment and what they thought.

Here's a link: http://abcnews.go.com/sections/GMA/GoodMorningAmerica/GMA020319Excerpt_randy_cohen.html
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re: Sneaking in treats revisited 22 Mar 2002 09:48 #25746

• Barry Floyd
  • Gold Boarder
  • Thank you received: 1
This was a topic that was brought up at the U.D.I.T.O.A. (United Drive-In Theatre Owners Association) conference in Orlanda in February. Drive-ins have hard enough time to make it in the exhibition business, and losing revenue to lost food sales can litterally put you out of business.

Some of the owners were saying that, "At the end of the night while I was picking up the lot, I was picking up more trash from McDonalds, Pizza Hut, etc. - than I was from my own concession stand". What other venue that charges admission to gain access allows you to bring in your own food? You wouldn't stand in line at the local indoor theatre with your Pizza Hut box and expect to be let in.. would you? Why should the drive-in be any different?

One approach that several drive-ins across the country have done is to sell an "Outside Food Permit".