Banner
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: 1st run vs Calender

1st run vs Calender 11 Nov 2010 17:15 #34862

• penvid
  • Fresh Boarder
I am new to the movie theater biz, 17 months with a small town newer 2 screen theater.
My booking agent pushes 1st run as best he can, we often think we're getting a film and having it pulled on the Monday before the Friday release. We often get films 3 and 4 weeks after the break.
Our regulars tend to be older folks and families, though we have been building on the few art films recently (Girl Dragon Tattoo, Get Low) which tend to be older and don't buy as much concessions.
Right now we have Megamind opening day and Red after 3 weeks. Last weekend we did almost as well with Red.
I've been informed a calender type movie house is getting movies a few weeks after release, advertising with a calender so people know when they are coming, doing more "special" films (classic night, family/kid Sat morning events), possibly charging less.
Does anyone do this? I suspect a lower overhead is needed to do this unless one can make it up with volume. We can't make a 3rd week on a new title profitable in our small town. We are 10 miles from a 10 plex chain now with 3D. The nearest "art house" is 20 plus miles away.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re:1st run vs Calender 11 Nov 2010 23:12 #34869

• revrobor
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Thank you received: 21