Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Question from a new film distributor

Question from a new film distributor 07 Aug 2010 21:47 #34432

• tbristoll
  • Fresh Boarder
Hello Everyone,

Newbie to this board, I'm not in the theater biz, I'm actually a producer, and I'm bringing a film to theaters in March. I'm up against the clock and this is a new venture for my company.

My question is: How does a brand new distribution company find and contact theatrical bookers for company's like say NA, or Regal? And how do I go about picking the right theaters to book my film for each town? Does the booker offer or suggest? And then is there a contract that memorializes the split after that's negotiated (and can a new company outside Hollywood even negotiate that?)

Sorry for the rambling, as you can see I have a lot of questions, so I thought I'd go straight to the source!!

Any help Much appreciated thanks!!

--Tim
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re:Question from a new film distributor 08 Aug 2010 02:04 #34433

• Keweler
  • Expert Boarder
  • Thank you received: 3
Tim,

I didn't quite understand if you are new to film producing and distribution or just distribution. If it is the first case, I would just concentrate on making a good movie, then enter it to festivals and hope that one of the big distributors will buy it from you.

If you just new to distributing you might want to come to one (or all ) of the trade shows, Showeast, Showwest, Geneva Convention and so on. PLenty of people there that would be good to know.

Good Luck,
Jay

Re:Question from a new film distributor 08 Aug 2010 07:32 #34434

• tbristoll
  • Fresh Boarder
Hi Jay,