Banner
Home Forums Movie Theaters The Back Office What scams have you uncovered?
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: What scams have you uncovered?

What scams have you uncovered? 25 Mar 2008 05:58 #25504

• NSCInemas
  • Expert Boarder
Because of my comments on high percaps and drops in attendance comment on the "popcorn" thread in the "Concession" forurum I started thinking about some the scams I uncovered when I was a manager. I like the think that I was pretty good at researching and investigating such matters. My favorite one that I caught red handed was when I worked for a large national chain that at the time still used paper gift certificates. They came in a book of 100 and were in five dollar increments. We would give each cashier their own book every shift and record the opening serial number as each certificate was serialized. When they were redeemed the cashier would stamp them as "VOID" and place them in thier drawer. When it came time to cashout the total dollar amount of all the redeemed gift certificates would be entered in its own feild in the radiant system and the amount would be deducted from the amount of cash expected to be in the drawer. Like wise we would record the closing number then deduct the opening number from the closing number to get the total certs sold then multiply by five and enter the dollar amount sold in a feild that added to the expected total. (They were supposed to be rung in when sold but sometimes they didnt if it was a cash sale so thankfully radiant enabled the gift certs sold feild to be edited)