Home Forums Movie Theaters The Back Office Long-Distance Operations
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Long-Distance Operations

Long-Distance Operations 14 Dec 2006 10:03 #25243

• 01mommy
  • Fresh Boarder
Hello All! There's a 6-8 screen theater inside my college town mall that's been closed for about 2 years (a megaplex was built adjacent to the mall, perhaps by the same company). At any rate, I was interested in opening a subrun/artsy theater in its place. It's a city of about 35,000, with two mid-size colleges within 20 minutes that offer daily shuttles to the mall. The problem is I live in Florida 9 months of the year (I'm a teacher but one of my homes is in Maryland). Do you think it's at all feasible considering I won't be there the majority of the time? I don't think good management would be an issue, my alma mater has an excellent HRM program and I think I could also present numerous opportunities for internships and employment. Obviously, I'm not looking to get rich, but I think the concept would be a welcome change in the community (most of the college professionals are residents and there is money in the area in terms of income). I've seen some of the work schedules you all have and just wanted some opinions from seasoned vets of the industry.
Thanks!

sorry for the typo!

[This message has been edited by 01mommy (edited December 14, 2006).]
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re: Long-Distance Operations 14 Dec 2006 20:33 #25244

• Dexxa
  • Junior Boarder
It's do abli guess, As long as the manager you hire know's what hes doing and that he can send the required paper work to you that need's to be done,

Re: Long-Distance Operations 15 Dec 2006 05:25 #25245

• jimor
  • Platinum Boarder
Unless you know the manager you hire and also trust him as a dearest brother, I would arrange for close surveillance! You would have a lot to lose with a clever operator.