Banner
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Clearance?

Clearance? 18 May 2005 03:41 #24870

Hi all! Great Forum! I am a newbie but Ive done my homework (the basics at least). If one plans on building a multiplex that is given 'Clearance' by a major chain...what is the next step? Can the film studios simply deny you product outright? I understand it is not very 'pc' of them to do...but seriously...can they still get away with it? What is the process for applying for films. DO you really have to build the building first? Thx for the input
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re: Clearance? 18 May 2005 09:49 #24871

• rodeojack
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Thank you received: 3
This is an extremely variable issue that's one of the more "fun" parts of theatre politics. There's no stock answer to dealing with it. If you have a clearance problem, you have some work ahead of you to get it dealt with... if that turns out to be possible. However, in some cases, it can be done.

The master license between the studio and exhibitor mentions this subject. Most of them have wording that says an exhibitor can request (in writing) a clearance over another. My hunch is that this would give the studio an "out", should a cleared theatre choose to fight it out in an "official forum". I personally have never seen such a document, though.

Whether you're dealing with an actual clearance or not, however, the studios could tell you that they can "place their product where they think it will generate the most revenue"... which adds a huge variable to your potential life as a businessperson.