Banner
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Financial Data

Financial Data 05 Mar 2003 20:45 #23953

• roetzelm
  • Fresh Boarder
I am an MBA student and I have been assigned a project to do a business plan on a movie theater.

I need help on How the rental of movies works between the studios and theaters and which theaters get films first. Also, how much does the theater pay the studio?

Can you also tell me the cost %'s for Labor, concessions, rent, etc.?

Also I need information on revenue and what percentage of total seats are sold on different days of the week on average.

Lastly, Is it better to have two big theaters or six small ones?

Thanks for your help.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re: Financial Data 05 Mar 2003 21:36 #23954

• roetzelm
  • Fresh Boarder
I think I have the data on the cost of the film from reading the forums. Also the rent.

However, An additional question: If the theater is in a 500,000 population area (Large College Town), with 2 other nationally owned thaters (Very Ratty and poorly managed) as competition, what should the theater project as attendance per week with a 2 or 6 screen theater?

Re: Financial Data 17 Mar 2003 11:03 #23955

• Mike
  • Administrator
  • Thank you received: 45
Hi Roetz/ I would suggest that you can find most of this research by working the forums.

It is in my opinion better to have 2 big (with more screens) that 6 small but : where are the six or 2? Who is your competition? Etc. etc.

In general it is always best to have more screens no matter how big-small-or whatever!

Michael Hurley
Impresario
Michael Hurley
Impresario

Re: Financial Data 17 Mar 2003 14:54 #23956

• revrobor
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Thank you received: 23
I believe even a single screen can be profitable in your situation, but it is the product you play not the number of screens that will make it successful.