Home Forums Movie Theaters The Back Office Stalemate on Theatre Lease
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Stalemate on Theatre Lease

Stalemate on Theatre Lease 08 Feb 2003 10:05 #23779

• RDW
  • Fresh Boarder
Good morning to all. This is my first time here. Enjoy all the posts and wisdom in the forum. To start I have 12 years in operations of theatre exhibition, and relate to all the differnt nuiances you have in this great business. I agree that you have to have passion to stay with it. My situation has giving me a lot of stress. To begin with I have the oppurtunity to be an independent by leasing a four screen completely set up. The complex use to be a 1st run and the major went in to bankruptcy. The population of over 100,000 here and no 2nd run. This is a great location and the building and equiptment are in fantastic shape. I got them to even update equipt. The agent agrees with what I can do with it and has supported me to give a lease to. My problem is that the owner wants more liquidity on my side. The lease is setup for three years/option five. Rate is 4500.00 a month plus tripple net. I sent them a P@L projection. Now I have offered them 3 to 7 1/2 percent on gross net. Gross around 400,000. They think it should do more. What I responded with is that these are real numbers not pie in the sky and any thing above is great for all parties concerned. I have thought about a partnership, but as you all know this is not retail. Any support or comments would be great. Thank you and I hope I wasn't to long.

The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re: Stalemate on Theatre Lease 08 Feb 2003 13:39 #23780

• Large
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Thank you received: 1
I am a 5-plex in a town of 150,000.

We don't pay triple net, but our rent is higher.

We did $2 million on art films last year, or year number 3.