Banner
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: liscenses?

liscenses? 03 May 2002 15:47 #23235

• bob_adob
  • Fresh Boarder
hi, im a student interested in the movie business and am writing a business proposal for a class project (seems to be a ton of us eh?).
Anyway i've gone through this whole forum and have learned a great deal, but i wasnt able to find anything about what kind of liscenses were needed to open a theatre. can anyone help or point me somewhere to find this info?
also are there any other legal, city/state issues i should be aware of (ie. zoning)?
the proposal is for a small single screen, showing cult/art/indie/foreign etc. type films, in a loungey type atmosphere. some have called it a cinemacafe or something.
any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks!
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re: liscenses? 03 May 2002 18:40 #23236

• Mike
  • Administrator
  • Thank you received: 41
Greetings:
1. "places of assembly" come under state and city fire laws so ceratin amounts of seats eqaul certain requirements for sprinklers, alarms, exits, lighting, etc. Not a lisc but still a permitting issue.
2. amusements lisc
3. food and bev lisc
4. zoning is a local issue and you always need to consult with city planning or code office
5. in some places you'll need a movie theatre lisc. (I hear) which I believe is a holdover from the days of exploding and flammable film

Other than that and a pile of money? I don't think there's a thing you need.

Good question and thanks/ Mike

Mike Hurley
www.bigscreenbiz.com
Michael Hurley
Impresario

Re: liscenses? 04 May 2002 07:36 #23237

• rsmith
  • Junior Boarder
In our area at least one person must be registered with the Health Dept as licensed food handler. This requires attendance to a food handling course and a yearly registration fee. This is in addition to a city food & bev license. Don't forget that you would also need a FEIN # for employee related taxes and a state sales tax #