Banner
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Help, Please!

Help, Please! 24 Apr 2012 15:07 #38318

• snow4all
  • Fresh Boarder
I am a newbie here and I have already spent several hours looking through posts and I have found a lot of the information that I need, but some of it still eludes me. I am at my 3rd day on the job in the office of a dying mall with relatively new owners and I have been tasked with researching information to find out how much it will cost to get the 5 screen theater back up and running that Cinemark shut down about 8 years ago. When they left they stripped the building of pretty much everything. I have managed theaters for AMC, Loew's and Cinemark, so I am very familiar with theater operations, but I have never helped open a theater. I cannot find information on pricing for movie screens and sound folds. Can you point me to where I need to go on this, please? I am also technologically handicapped when it comes to the sound system (that was my one weakness when managing the theaters). The Mall owner wants to go with 35mm projectors (I told him that soon we may not be able to get 35mm prints, but he wants to get the theater up and running as quickly as possible as cheaply as possible). What kind of sound equipment and speakers do I need and where can I go to get pricing on this? Thank you so much for your help!
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re: Help, Please! 24 Apr 2012 15:19 #38319

• rodeojack
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Thank you received: 6
You were wise to pass along your concerns to the owners. Depending on the type of operation, its grossing history and location, theatres are beginning to have problems with 35mm booking right now. As your theatre would be starting from scratch, your lack of history might be a real problem for you.