Banner
Home Forums Movie Theaters The Booth what would you buy?
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: what would you buy?

what would you buy? 25 Oct 2000 20:40 #20893

I will be starting out brand-spankin' new opening a 2 screen, possibly as early as next summer. I'm very new to the business (but learning alot here)and know very little about the projection equipment. If you were starting out new (and money is tight), what system would you use? Would you go for digital? If I bought used equipment, say from a closing theater, are their people out there to install it? I have the name of a company in Mass. that sells and installs but I'd like to know what other options I have.

I would also like to utilize local advertising and trivia before the show, probably with slides. Any advice on what equipment I would need for this?

Thanks!
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re: what would you buy? 26 Oct 2000 14:06 #20894

• Avalon
  • Platinum Boarder
Become freindly with you local cinmea equipment supply compnay and see what they have for used equipment. Pardon the plugs, but I'm in Oregon and I use American Cinema Equipment (Portland, OR) becuase they have rooms of used equipment and they respond very quickly to any technical problems i'm having. Cin Tronics in Everett, WA has been great at finding the esoteric equipment i sometimes need.

It is best to establish a relationship with a supplier who you can trust. they will know you and your equipment and can help out. you're going to be dealing with them eventually and it makes 'em much more cooperative if you bought your equipment from them in the first place. The difference between refunding a show and making a deposit will depend on whether your supplier is willing to take your call at 9pm on sunday.