Banner
Home Forums Movie Theaters The Sidewalk The Once And Future Fantasy
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: The Once And Future Fantasy

The Once And Future Fantasy 20 Dec 2000 13:28 #19822

I will be the first to admit that I am an avid fan of J.R.R. Tolkien. I first read "The Hobbit" while I was a freshman in city college in California. So I'm very interested in "The Lord of the Rings" movies,first installment "The Fellowship of the Ring" slated for Dec.19th,2001.
New Line Cinema's commitment of $270 million will make it the most expensive movie ever made. This buts them in a very vunerable state. It will force them to do the very best they can as to not fail. The movie must be a grabber. The Tolkien fans will ask for no less. They will know the floors if there are any. Being commited to the other two installments,"The Two Towers",and "The Return of the King" could proove to be an adventure to The Prancing Pony Inn or straight to the gates of Mordor itself.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re: The Once And Future Fantasy 20 Dec 2000 17:22 #19823

• Avalon
  • Platinum Boarder
As one of the few people on the planet that doesn't watch TV, my partner and I read to each other. We just finished the second book of the three. My fear would be with such an investment, they are more likely to be true to the buck rather than the story.
Paul Turner
Avalon Cinema

Re: The Once And Future Fantasy 21 Dec 2000 11:26 #19824

My logical mind tells me that you are probably right. I keep hoping however, that they would have the respect at heart for the truly gifted story teller that Tolkien was. Some reviews serve to give me a glimmer of hope.
By the way, you'll be blown away by the way this story ends. Promise, it won't disappoint.

Re: The Once And Future Fantasy 10 Jan 2001 13:49 #19825

• take2
  • Gold Boarder