Banner
Home Forums Movie Theaters The Lobby Newbie, stiff competition?
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Newbie, stiff competition?

Newbie, stiff competition? 17 Nov 2004 01:37 #9333

• k-town
  • Fresh Boarder
Hey, I'm a newbie hoping to open a 1-2 screen theater in my town. I live in a small Idaho town, population: 9,000. I believe that a movie theater out here would do pretty well considering we've never had one before and there's no source of entertainment whatsoever here. The delema I'm having (besides finding funding) is competition. People in my town are very lazy, so having to drive 15-20 miles can be quite a hassle (especially due to gas prices). Now, I've seen a lot of people with competition that far and doing fine, but how about having an EDWARDS TWENTY-ONE SCREEN THEATER within 20 miles (pop: 170,000)? Oh and in another direction there's another Edwards 14 screen about 25 miles (pop 80,000). Their prices are in the $8-9.00 range and only brand new movies.

I'd only show dollar-movies like 4 weeks after release. I feel that since they're different types of movies people would go for it. Please give me some advice because info is pretty hard to come by online.

[This message has been edited by k-town (edited November 17, 2004).]
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re: Newbie, stiff competition? 17 Nov 2004 09:15 #9334

• leeler
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Thank you received: 12
That's pretty much been my strategy and it has done pretty well for me. A 9,000 population sounds about right. With lower priced tickets and concessions you should be able to bring them in. Don't kid yourself, though. It won't be easy and you won't get rich doing it.
"What a crazy business"

Re: Newbie, stiff competition? 17 Nov 2004 10:24 #9335

• RoxyVaudeville
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Thank you received: 17