Home Forums Movie Theaters The Lobby Thinking outside the box
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Thinking outside the box

Thinking outside the box 07 Nov 2000 17:41 #857

• GREGBORR
  • Gold Boarder
I'm curious to know how many theatres out there have tried one-stop ticketing and concession stations, remote selling (Kiosks), Internet Ticketing, Customer Self-serve stations(Drinks,Popcorn), etc.

Have you had success or failure with these or other ideas?

Greg Borr
Sales and Marketing
Ready Theatre Systems
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re: Thinking outside the box 07 Nov 2000 18:24 #858

The self serve popcorn and drink stations that I have come in comtact with created theft and waste. Things were walked off with and not paid for. These were "cafeteria style lines" Vending machines for 1 liter Coke products I have seen be a real sucess because people do not want to stand in line.
I have had no experience with remote ticketing as of yet. Sounds to me it could be a small headache if you were to have computer problems.

Re: Thinking outside the box 08 Nov 2000 10:19 #859

• GREGBORR
  • Gold Boarder
Remote ticketing brings up several issues if it is done off site, if it is connected to your local area network it will be as reliable as any other computer on the network. Remote ticketing also requires maintenance to the machine itself, if it is not serviced it will fail.

We have a customer that does one-stop ticketing and concessions, self-serve pop and popcorn, and in one location this weekend will be attempting self-serve nachos and self serve Chicago Style hot dogs.
Should be interesting.

They will also be testing remote ordering stations where you receive a numbered receipt and then proceed to filling stations.

Greg Borr
Sales and Marketing
Ready Theatre Systems

Re: Thinking outside the box 09 Nov 2000 20:39 #860