Banner
Home Forums Movie Theaters The Lobby Percap and per ticket??
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Percap and per ticket??

Percap and per ticket?? 15 Mar 2004 21:48 #7711

• bjork24
  • Junior Boarder
Hey guys, I've been reading, rereading, and rerereading the forums over the last few days... especially the FAQ section. A couple terms keep popping up, and, as a newbie, I was wondering if someone might take a moment to explain them to me.

I've heard the terms percap and per ticket thrown around by the vets (i.e. Mike, Large, Avalon, etc... no offense to the rest, these were just the names I saw the most... you're all vets, I'm sure). Is there a difference between these two terms? I hear percap referenced more with concession profit, but I want to make sure I have my terms straight before I continue.

By the way, I did a couple searches in search of an answer, but my larbor was fruitless. Still, I apologize if my question was already answered a long time ago in a post far, far away.

[This message has been edited by bjork24 (edited March 16, 2004).]
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re: Percap and per ticket?? 16 Mar 2004 03:44 #7712

• outaframe
  • Platinum Boarder
Per cap, per ticket, per head are the total of something (usually concession sales) divided by the number of exposures (tickets sold)... Unfortunately, it CAN also refer to the minimum amount (per ticket) that a distributor will accept for an engagement, regardless of the actual ticket price... If you have a booking with a $3 per cap vs. 60%, and you sell your tickets for $4, you would end up paying $3 (75% of your $4 ticket price) instead of the 2.40 (60% per ticket) the film actually earned at the $4 ticket price... Disney has threatened this in the past in order to force ticket prices (and grosses) higher...

[This message has been edited by outaframe (edited March 16, 2004).]

Re: Percap and per ticket?? 16 Mar 2004 08:13 #7713

• bjork24