Banner
Home Forums Movie Theaters The Lobby Costs/Requirements for old movies?
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Costs/Requirements for old movies?

Costs/Requirements for old movies? 12 Feb 2004 18:19 #7543

• MS
  • Fresh Boarder
Well, I'm brand new here. I'm also brand new to the thought of showing films. I have been checking out the old posts and the archives and I just haven't quite found the answers I'm looking for yet. My thoughts weren't geared towards building a new multi-million $ building and taking over a market. I feel that I may be in an area where there is a market for older movies. So the questions arise...

#1 Is it possible to project movies onto a screen from DVD? If so, is there a limit to the size screen it could be projected to? (My first impulse is that there isn't a limit, depending on how nice the projector is, but I just want to verify.)

#2 Do you have to have some sort of license for this? Do you have to get an approval from each company that owns the rights for the film?

#3 Would they require a fee for that? Any idea how much? For a film that is 5 years old? 10 years?

If this has already been answered, feel free to just give me the link to it. Thanks in advance!
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re: Costs/Requirements for old movies? 12 Feb 2004 18:45 #7544

• crshedd
  • Senior Boarder
you can get public showing rights for movies from a couple of different companies. swank motion pictures ( www.swank.com ) has been a real pleasure to work with. dvd is available thru them but this means the movie has already hit the video stores. public viewing rights will run from as low as $100 up to $400 depending on title and studio. if you are in the east call ann at 1.800.876.3344.

'hey! there's no party here!'
jeff spicoli
fast times at ridgemont high
jeff spicoli

Re: Costs/Requirements for old movies? 13 Feb 2004 00:49 #7545

• RoxyVaudeville
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Thank you received: 17