Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Newbie w/ an idea needs advice

Newbie w/ an idea needs advice 21 Oct 2003 15:55 #6536

• wdrwoman
  • Fresh Boarder
Hi all,

I've been enjoying reading your posts and decided that you would be the best people to give me advice.

Recently Carmike closed a theatre in my area that I have been dreaming of opening as a discount theatre. Several of you have said that these are going the way of the dinosaur. Why is that?

I know nothing about theatre systems. I have a business degree and I've been doing computer programming most of my career. I am having somewhat of an early midlife crisis and I've always loved the movies. I'm in the $40 - $60 a year range now...would I make more than that owning a theatre?

Are there good programs for women or in general to find money for a theatre? What else should I consider?

I believe it is a four screen theatre. It's in a large city surrounded by lower middle class to upper lower class people. Some people recently leased it to open an all Spanish movie theatre. But after some large machinery that seemed to be sucking the air out of it, they have given up. I have no idea what the procedure is for. The concession area appears to be in good shape from what I can see although the color scheme is a little scary. I have no idea if any equipment was left, probably not, but the fountain part of the pepsi machine is still there.

Thank you all in advance for your help.

Carol
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re: Newbie w/ an idea needs advice 21 Oct 2003 17:49 #6537

• Large
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Thank you received: 1
The kind of money you make shouldn't be an issue.

1. The film studios (who control the product) have just about killed off the discount business.

2. Art is an ever growning business opportunity.

3. Commercial should be entered only if the competition is an inconvinient drive away and they have no designs on your town.