Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: "starting a movie theatre" letter

"starting a movie theatre" letter 20 Sep 2012 18:54 #39228

• Mike
  • Administrator
  • Thank you received: 45
Recently I received a nice letter.... I work as a consultant for theatre buyers, re-starters, etc.... but it is amazing to me that people routinely write letters like the one that follows and they are looking for "free" information. If you want cheap help: here's the best things you can do:
1. read bigscreenbiz forums
2.go to a trade show
3. purchase the last year's issue of Film Journal-Box Office and Screentrade
4. make friends with someone who has a theatre at least 50 miles away from where you plan to do business.
5. starting a cheap 3 screen theatre will require +/- 400-500K. If you have that kind of cash and are willing to spend that kind of money to start your theatre: hire a consultant.
6. if you do not have that kind of cash or credit: it's a dream my friend.

"Dear Bigscreenbiz....
I am keen to start a Movie Theater in XXXX. At this point I am researching my target market and and conducting feasibility tests. Additionally, I will have a strong Business and Marketing Plan. Recently I've stumbled across your website and have became a member of Bigscreenbiz.

I have too many questions to be addressed in one email, but for starters I would be much obliged if you could assist me with figuring out the start-up costs of a Movie Theater-Pub. Have you had any experience starting a Theater-Pub? If you could please give me as extensive list as possible of the necessary costs for starting a Movie Theater of three screens (I'm hoping to show three screens).