Banner
Home Forums Movie Theaters The Lobby General questions/help
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: General questions/help

General questions/help 04 Jul 2010 18:33 #34254

I am new to BSB and researching the various threads and posts here. So I thank you all in advance for the wealth of knowledge and assistance.

I have been skimming,reading and searching thread after thread and trying to get better acquainted with single screen operations but just wanted to throw a few questions out there...

What distance in miles between theaters is a min/max to consider them to be true direct competition?

Can a single screen house (first run) also run alternate films (first run or older)or are they limited to just being able to show 1 film. (ie an early PG showing and a later R film)?
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re:General questions/help 04 Jul 2010 18:45 #34256

• leeler
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Thank you received: 12
Pockethealer. welcome to the forums. I have run a single screen for seven years now. Last December we went digital and have been experimenting since then with running splits (ie one show in the afternoon and one show in the evening). Overall it has been worth it and it allows us to play a much wider variety of movies then we were able to in the past. As I've been opening up a bunch of product recently we've gotten behind on the new releases and so I plan on doing plenty more splits this fall to get caught back up.

As far as distance between competitors goes I think you should doa search on the forums for clearances. That is the issue and I think it varies from area to area and even from studio to studio. I'm a little out of my element here, though as I am in the middle of nowhere. Rufus and Slap, isn't this a good question for you guys?
"What a crazy business"

Re:General questions/help 04 Jul 2010 18:58 #34257