Banner
Home Forums Movie Theaters The Lobby Saving The Little Guys.
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Saving The Little Guys.

Saving The Little Guys. 15 May 2010 16:43 #33977

After five years of dreadful gutting and re-building, we have finally opened our little theatre in Orleans, Indiana. We rebuilt it as a multi purpose venue, (Bands, Magic, Puppets, Live theatre and Movies).

We are wanting to show classic movies, but we need dvd format as we are using Digital projection.

It seems all movies are going to run us about $300, we only seat 80 so this is well beyond our budget.

I was told by a former projectionist, that had I kept the 35mm projector, i could have got second run for $50 a week. I am new to this obviously, but it seems that $300 is a it steep.

Can anyone shed some light on the subject of booking for single screens? I am not looking for allot of money here, but I would like to break even at the door.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re:Saving The Little Guys. 15 May 2010 17:03 #33978

• revrobor
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Thank you received: 20
You'll never break even at the door. Most of the money in theatres is made at the concession stand. $300. is not an unreasonable rental price. Film companies usually charge a percentage of the boxoffice gross. That is an average of 55%. I've had Disney charge me 90%. You can get the DVDs anyplace but you have to get the public performance license from the film's distributor. Go to the "Directory" page of this site and click on film distributors. Or you can hire a booker. You'll find some listed in the same directory. You'll need a powerful video projector (at least 4,000 lumens). It sounds as though you need to do a lot of reading on this and other theatre sites as you don't seem to know much about the theatre business. Good luck. It's a wonderful business.
Bob Allen
The Old Showman

Re:Saving The Little Guys. 15 May 2010 19:04 #33979

• rufusjack