Banner
Home Forums Movie Theaters The Lobby New and sorta(?) stupid...
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: New and sorta(?) stupid...

New and sorta(?) stupid... 09 May 2010 00:59 #33915

• Tampopo
  • Fresh Boarder
Hello--

I honestly don't know the first thing about running a theater; I'm a historic preservation student who has to work out a feasibility study for reusing a historic building in economics class...but I have to thank everyone here for helping with a wealth of info just from my lurking. (You, the folks at cinematreasures and a gent from B & B have patiently helped save my bacon on this so far.) The more I look, the more I'm sure the building I picked couldn't work out as a theater after all, but I have to finish this assignment assuming it is (FWIW, it's a great old Christian Science church built like an auditorium and if my calculations are good can easily gobble up 350 with plenty of space for handicapped access/seating, wide seats w/cups and legroom for everyone else and a 70-ft. screen--anyone have any other ideas for a fabulous 1926 stone octagon? We sell cheap! ;) ) So, I have to ask some questions just to confirm, I tried to find out what I could before posting, and sorry if they're dumb--
1. I can either pay a fee OR pay 50+% of my box office take to the film companies for a movie, right? And it does make my life easier to get a booker, which can cost around $150 a month? If (that I should be so lucky) I could lean heavily on stuff like Night of the Lepus and Mothra vs. Godzilla, would this sort of thing cost much if it goes by fees?