Banner
Home Forums Movie Theaters The Lobby How much will you pay the film distributors?
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: How much will you pay the film distributors?

How much will you pay the film distributors? 03 Apr 2009 21:20 #31313

I am completely new to the industry and I am working on an business plan for a class project. I am having trouble finding how much the theater must pay to rent the film from distributors?

I have read almost every post on this website and from what I have gathered it is a good rule of thumb that the distributor gets to keep 50% of the ticket sales for that particular movie.

My question is, is there any base price that the theater must pay in order to obtain the movie? Or is it just X% of ticket sales?

Thanks!
Chris
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re:How much will you pay the film distributors? 03 Apr 2009 22:55 #31315

• revrobor
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Thank you received: 23
The distributors I have dealt with charged a fixed percentage of the B.O. gross. They set the percentage after setting a certain amount for the "house allowance". A sub-run house usually pays 35 to 50%. However I have paid 90% if my gross goes over a certain amount. Some films for sub-run houses are available for a flat rate ( often about $250 for a week).
Bob Allen
The Old Showman

Re:How much will you pay the film distributors? 05 Apr 2009 16:28 #31324

• Mike
  • Administrator
  • Thank you received: 45
Often an older film is just at a flat rental rate: can vary from 150-350 and more if it's a rare print.

More and more for new films they offer weekly terms 70-60-50-35 Best weeks cvounting down to worst week. If your best week is week 4 you pay 70%. Like that ever happens. Or they offer it terms vs. aggregate aka agg. All weeks same %. Anywhere from 52-57 depends how hot and how sure they feel. Often: we play max of three weeks and the agg is always the best.
Michael Hurley
Impresario