Banner
Home Forums Movie Theaters The Lobby The good, the bad and the ugly (equipment)
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: The good, the bad and the ugly (equipment)

The good, the bad and the ugly (equipment) 08 May 2008 12:42 #18443

• Keweler
  • Expert Boarder
  • Thank you received: 3
Hello everyone,
I am in the planning stage of buying a 2 screen theater. Since I am new to the business, I would love to have some input on the equipment that is there:
new in 1987, Kristi lamphouses, Potts film platter, Simplex projectors, ads are run on dvds
Does anybody have experience with a similar set-up? Anything I should look out for?
Any help is appreciated.
Jay
P.S. I've read the Faq's and there were awesome. Thank you for the info.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re: The good, the bad and the ugly (equipment) 09 May 2008 10:15 #18444

• NSCInemas
  • Expert Boarder
The simplex projectors should give you very trouble free service for years and years if they are maintained properly by a qualified cinema tech on a regular basis and kept oil. The most common problem with these machines is leaking oil besdies that they are built like tanks! I would make sure that you have a reverse scan L.E.D. optical sound reader installed as opposed to a white light exciter lamp reader as the majority of sound tracks today are not compatible with the white light. You also gain better channel seperation (less crosstalk) and better frequency response from reverse scan.

If the Christie lamphouse is a CH console or an H model on a pedestal I would look to upgrade as those lamphouses are very inneficient compared to todays models. The current Christie SLC lamp houses are fantastic and one of my favorites!