Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: digital report from Showest

digital report from Showest 22 Mar 2008 15:48 #18063

• Mike
  • Administrator
  • Thank you received: 45
My digital dream homework assignment at Show West.

I’ve been attending Show West and East for about 14 years. This year the show and the industry was as energized as I have ever seen it since 98-99 when people were simultaneously overbuilding and riding the dot-com stock wave: it was all about to end abruptly with the dot-bomb, bankruptcy, theatre closings and consolidation. Just when we were about to get the party started…..9-11 happened. And all the while digital hung over us like a helpful or murderous cloud (who knows) which could not be resolved. In 2002-2005 The End of Movie Theatres was a common news story. And we wondered the same. Even as our industry wobble stabilized the digital masters kept working to resolve, 3-D came forward, and alternative content went from an unlikely joke to reality. This entire time, post 9-11, has been an exercise in course setting. Where are we going? How will we get there? Can we survive? This year these questions have been answered by digital projection and delivery, 3-D, and “other stuff” besides movies. My sense of the industry now is that our direction is clear and we are on our way. It feels optimistic and positive.

I came at this digital thing as a guy who initially thought that while interesting it would never happen in my “theatre owning lifetime”: I am 57 years old and I was wrong. It is happening, it is underway, and it will be something I have to deal with.

I looked at all the equip, talked with everyone, it’s all great and you are sure to get screwed if you choose the wrong projector, hardware, software, provider, etc. But that is for the little people.