Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Money Making Idea

Money Making Idea 14 Oct 2007 22:33 #16255

• Invictator
  • Fresh Boarder
Hello all,
This is exactly the forum I've been looking for... Now I know I'm new but I've been reading all of the posts that I could so cut me some slack.

I'm currently a college student about to graduate. I'm enrolled in an entrepreneurial program and I had an idea and have a bunch of questions that I'm hoping you expects can answer.

My friends and I go to the movies about once a month, maybe more. Generally everytime we go we have no idea what we want to see, so we decide when we get there. Every single time we go there is always at least one (up to ten) movies that we've never heard of, about which we'd like more information. Only one theatre that I've EVER been to has had information about all of the movies. It was all in a very dirty binder (which I didn't want to tough) and gave roughly 3-4 sentences about the plot of the movie. This essentially did us as much good as having no binder at all...

Anyways, my idea was to create a touch screen setup in the lobby of the theatre such that it would contain movie trailers/teasers to customers free of charge... Also, it would have all of the general information about the movies (actors, running time etc) and would contain user reviews from a respected review site.

Now I can understand from a business standpoint that making this free to customers wouldn't generate any revenue and all it would actually do is give people more information about the movies. However, if advertising could somehow be implemented into this device such that advertisers would pay to have their ads shown, I believe that it could potentially generate revenue for the theatre...

I have a ton of questions going further into detail, but I just wanted to throw the idea out there to see what you all think of it (good idea? will it work? is it viable?) Please let me know what you think.