Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Purchasing prints vs. rental

Purchasing prints vs. rental 15 Apr 2001 03:43 #1487

• david
  • Fresh Boarder
Hi all.

I'm completely new to all of this, but was playing around with some ideas.

First off, I was wondering if it is possible to purchase film prints outright to be shown in a theater, instead of the usual 50% or so rental fee. My basic idea is to stock favorites in a film "library" so that the screenings are varied and people could select movies for private group screenings.

Also, how practical would it be to replace the standard theater seats with sofas, couches, and comfy chairs? The idea is to try to make going to the movies as comfortable as watching a DVD at home. But, instead of watching Citizen Kane or Full Metal Jacket at home on a 32" screen, you could have all the conveniences of home with a 20' x 15' screen.

Instead of the usual concessions, we would have a lobby cafe with gourmet treats and beverages. One of the best theaters I've been to, the Little Theatre in Rochester, NY, has the Little Cafe where they have art displayed on the walls and live jazz on the weekends.

Is this feasible? Is it practical or potentially profitable? Anyone else doing anything like this?

Thanks in advance.

David
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re: Purchasing prints vs. rental 15 Apr 2001 12:18 #1488

• Ken Layton
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Thank you received: 4
Purchasing prints does not give you the rights to exhibit those prints. It's called copyright infringement.

As for putting in couches, forget it. If you make your theater like someone's living room, why should the people leave their own living room to pay money to sit in your living room? And if people did show up at your "living room" they'd bring their own snacks, too.

Re: Purchasing prints vs. rental 15 Apr 2001 16:11 #1489

• trackfood
  • Gold Boarder
  • Thank you received: 1