Banner
Home Forums Movie Theaters The Lobby should I buy this theater pub?
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: should I buy this theater pub?

should I buy this theater pub? 20 Mar 2007 15:54 #14637

• eop8
  • Fresh Boarder
Please help!!! I'm a bit of a newbie to the industry but I'm seriously considering placing an offer on an existing 2 screen theater pub business in Massachusetts. The business sells approx. 42000 tickets/yr at $5 each and sells pub style food, beer and wine. 42K in tickets doesn't count revenue from birthday parties and other "groups" which he pockets right away (these are some of the off book revenues). Reported revenues have been growing very slightly and are around $575K/yr. After running some valuation calculations on the biz, and feeling out the owner and business broker, I feel I might be able to get this biz for around $350K - $450K.

My concerns:
1. As you know this is very much a cash based business, and the owner claims to have around $100 - $150K of revenues "off book", however he has the actual checks to show he used his cinema checking account to buy personnal items (effectively this became his owner draw). I'm not sure how much of these off book revenues to count, if any????

2. I'm really afraid of all the talk on this site regarding the "window" between movie release and DVD release - especially for 2nd run. Is this window really going away, and if so will all these types of theaters essentially go belly up? Perhaps you'd have to find an alternate use such as a comedy club or music stage?

3. The other issue I read a lot about is that movie theatres in general are seeing declining revenues and ticket sales - and are thus highering prices to make up for it. I think the high prices of the local megaplex drives customers to this cinema pub. However if Netflix and onDemand keep growing, what is likely to be left of the theatre industry?