Banner
Home Forums Movie Theaters The Lobby I know its already been partially asked, but-
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: I know its already been partially asked, but-

I know its already been partially asked, but- 02 Jan 2007 23:01 #14111

I'm currently a college student working on core subjects. I'm passionate about the film industry, and would like to attain a career within it.

First and foremost, I would want to be a director; but if that didn't work out, I would want to own a theater.

What can I do right now to help the achievement of this goal?
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re: I know its already been partially asked, but- 02 Jan 2007 23:19 #14112

"I know its already been partially asked, but I'm still going to need to read the archives."

I taught myself using this website and FT.

We can't just make you smart enough to go ahead and start up now.
Since 1987

Re: I know its already been partially asked, but- 02 Jan 2007 23:33 #14113

• Narrow Gauge
  • Gold Boarder
  • Thank you received: 2
I would suggest getting a part time job at a cinema-this may help clarify the direction you want to pursue. Being a director and owning a theater are very distant cousins. I personally don't feel any connection to what goes on in Hollywood.
Owning a cinema is not glamorous, sexy, or easy-butit can be rewarding-Good Luck

Re: I know its already been partially asked, but- 03 Jan 2007 10:28 #14114

• Mike
  • Administrator
  • Thank you received: 44

First shot is directing but there's a lot of options there: producing, assisting, etc. etc.
1. go to school and learn the biz
2. take internships in nothing but film
3. work in nothing but film
4. work in a theatre so at least you understand this end
5. don't push the river
6. it's a big industry from film making to exhibition and there's a place for everyone

Good luck/ MIke

Michael Hurley
Impresario
Michael Hurley
Impresario