Home Forums Movie Theaters The Lobby Looking for Information
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Looking for Information

Looking for Information 07 Aug 2006 17:00 #13099

• tleisher
  • Fresh Boarder
Hello, I have a ton of questions so I hope you can answer them all in time. Let me give you some background information, my name is Tyler. I'm 20 years old and I'm majoring in Business Administration. My dream job is to own my own movie theatre/megaplex (10-20 theatres).

Every since a kid I have loved movies, I wanted to be a director but that fell through, so I figure the next best thing is to own amovie theatre.

So I'm here to ask all the questions I can, and anymore that spring up, if there is a thread for some of these please link me, otherwise I appreciate all the info you have.

1. How much money do most theatres cost to open? This includs rent, equiptment, concessions, staff, etc.

2. How do I get big movies into the theatre? Example, I want Pirates of the Carribean 2 playing in my theatre opening weekend, how much do I have to pay and how would I go about doing this?

3. With companies like pepsi, coke, dr pepper, etc. Is there a minimum amount you have to buy and if so how much is the amount and how much do they charge per carton?

4. For an 8 screen theatre, how many staff should I hire and for what purposes?

5. What is the best ticket, concession, etc, software to use with a computer? How much does it cost?

6. Are there any kind of special permits or requirments that I should look into for my city of choice?

7. How much should I charge per ticket, per matine ticket?

8. How do you put up with your competition? I live in an area that has a Cinema 16 AMC theatre, and another Cinema 8 AMC theatre nearby, my city of choice is a very wealthy area (Houses cost in the 2-3 Millions) and there is no movie theatre in the area (the closest one is a 5-15 mile drive). How will I keep up with big theatres?